Thinking of going w/LCD monitor

Pro Member Trainee
tubeamp Trainee

Have heard some newer LCD's have Greatly improved as far as Gaming. Is this true, anyone using a LCD for FS9. I personally would like 19' LCD. Using a 17'' CRT now but if I have to I will go to a 19'' CRT. Thanks for any feedback !!!!

Answers 8 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Captain
Bindolaf Captain

I use an old NEC 15 inch LCD and I wouldn't go back for anything. Take up less space, no noise coming from it, no radiation, really much better for the eyes... no comparison.

Pro Member Trainee
roger123 Trainee

I have been using a Phillps 170 17" monitor for the last six months. I am very satisfied with it and would not go back to the to the old system.

The compactness and space saving is a bonus for a start. I would not recommend using one with built in speakers though.
Regards
🙂

Pro Member First Officer
Michael_H First Officer

Have heard some newer LCD's have Greatly improved as far as Gaming. Is this true

It is true, but:

A top quality CRT will still outperform even the best LCD display available with ease. It is impossible to obtain a true black with an LCD. although areas may appear black to the untrained, there is always light leakage through the blocked pixels of an LCD screen The best contrast ratios obtainable with an LCD are under 1000:1 A CRT is capable of contrast ratios in excess of 30,000:1.

A CRT is capable of a much wider gradation of color spectrum than an LCD display, since the color brightness can be modulated for each pixel (Z Axis Modulation), this is not possible with the back light of an LCD display, which must remain constant over the entire image area. Finer focus is possible with a CRT, since the minimum feature possible with an LCD display is the pre-determined area of each LCD segment. This is why LCD displays are subject to jaggies and granularity.