How to land with one engine?

Sico2 Guest

Hiya all,

I was looking for an answer for this question and didn't find anything. Sometimes when I fly in FS9, few miles before landing I shut down one of the engines (mostly on 737, 767 or 777-for fun, let us say) and am trying to land. It's impossible for me!

I don't know what can be wrong or is such a manoeuvre generally possible in this game? I know it's possible in real life, but is it in FS9? I tried many times, and almost every time the plane loses speed very much, than altitude, pitch goes up. If I try to correct with rudder or wing leveller it goes in other direction anyway, and after few minutes it crashes all the time. Did anyone from experienced pilots tried something similar, was the landing successful? Should I try with lighter aircraft or something, like piper, learjet ? Thanks for your advice.

Answers 13 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member First Officer
kianok First Officer

I'm no expert on this but it sounds like you are trying to use autopilot to correct the fault.

I'm sure you would do better if you tried to fly manually.

Pro Member Chief Captain
hinch Chief Captain

only set throttle to idle when you get over the runway threshold. if your plane is heavily loaded you can;t set the throttle to idle - maybe keep it 15%. really it's up to you - keep your eye on the gauge and stay about 10 knots above your stall speed as you approach, when about 50ft above set it to idle and glide down.

Sico2 Guest