Stuck Brakes

Rick108 Guest

I am a student pilot, just bought FS2004 to use for practice. I'm flying the C172, but the red word "BRAKES" is constantly in the lower left corner (other planes, too, by the way). Settings says the period key should release them, but it does nothing. I have tried remapping the Brake (Apply/Release) funtion to other keys, but still no luck. Everything else seems to be working ok, and I can (eventually) take off with the brakes on, but I can't figure out how to release the brakes. I am using the CH USB Yoke and Pedals, if that makes any difference...

Any ideas?

Answers 19 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Chief Captain
RadarMan Chief Captain

Try in controls and uncheck the reverse box for the pedals.

Radar

RadarMan wrote:

Try in controls and uncheck the reverse box for the pedals.

Radar

Thanks, RadarMan. I tried it, but no change. Also, I should note that the toe brakes don't seem to work ("reverse" checked or not), even though they calibrate fine and test ok - I can see the X and Y axes move. I assumed it was because the BRAKES were stuck on anyway, but maybe that is another clue... Should the Reverse" box normally be checked or not? It came checked by default, because I didn't do it!

Pro Member Chief Captain
RadarMan Chief Captain

I never used the yoke or pedals but don't you press toe up for one function and heel down for another.

Try going into the control panel of the sim (in settings) and assign a button on the yoke for breaks and see how that works.

I use a stick and my trigger or the "." works for me.

Radar

Rick108 Guest