New FSX Pilot

Pro Member Trainee
Jonathan Stanley (Captain_Jon_Stanley) Trainee

Hello everyone,

My name is Jon Stanley I am a 21 y/o Firefighter / Security Officer from Canada. I have just purchased FSX and am looking forward to training my flight skills.

Just a little about me.

I have served 1 year in Afghanistan as a Firefighter and now am back home working as a Security Officer until another Fire position comes up. I am a world traveller with 34k miles accumulated on Air Canada / Star Alliance members which has given me the AC Prestige 25k Status / Star Alliance Silver Status, and 15k miles accumulated on British Airways. Flight Sims have always been an interest of mine and with my recent purchase of a high end gaming laptop I am ready to give it a proper go. I do not have a joystick and plan on using a mouse.

I am planning on downloading the Air Canada DH-8 and starting there then progressing up to Jet Engine Aircraft. Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Answers 10 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Chief Captain
RadarMan Chief Captain

Impressive background.
If you start as planned you will give up in about 30 minutes.
Start with a single engine aircraft using the lessons provided in the sim.
When you learn to takeoff, fly properly and land then you can graduate to airliners although I would try the DC-3 provided in the sim before an airliner like you want.

By the way, you will not only be more successful but will enjoy flying much more with a joystick, an expensive one isn't necessary.
Look in your local large shops that have a display (Best Buy?) and then buy one at a good price from Amazon.
Be sure that it has your Operating System listed on the box.

Good luck and let us know how you are getting along.

Radar

Pro Member Trainee

Hello,