How do I open the Map in MSFS?

Peter Lambert Guest

I'm pretty new to the sim and while I managed to get the map open once - for the life of me can't find a way to get it to come back up.

How do I open the map view in the simulator?  A full explanation would be most appreciated.  Bit of a rookie here.

Answers 1 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Captain
Ian Stephens (ianstephens) Captain
Ian Stephens is an expert on this topic. Read his bio here.

I see you're diving into the world of Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020 and have encountered a common hurdle: opening the map view. Don't worry, even seasoned sim enthusiasts sometimes need a refresher on these aspects.

Accessing the Map in MSFS 2020

1. Using the Top Menu: Once you're in a flight, move your mouse to the top of the screen. This action will reveal a hidden menu. Look for an icon resembling a globe or a map – that's your key to the map view. Clicking on this icon will bring up the map.
  2. Keyboard Shortcut: Alternatively, you can quickly access the map by using the keyboard shortcut 'V'. This is a handy tip for those moments when you need to quickly glance at your route or check nearby airports without navigating through menus.
  3. Customizing Your View: Once the map is open, you can zoom in and out to get a better view of your surroundings. This feature is particularly useful for planning your flight path or just exploring the virtual world from above.
  4. Interactive Features: The map in MSFS 2020 isn't just a static image; it's interactive. You can click on airports, waypoints, and other points of interest to get more information. This can be incredibly useful for flight planning and navigation.

Further Tips for New Simmers:

• Experiment with Settings: MSFS 2020 is highly customizable. Don't hesitate to play around with the settings and controls to find what works best for you.