Approaches and Landings

SQ Guest

Folks,

I am new to FS world. I've been reading lot of books/help to understand how to navigate etc. But I've not seen a place that would answer my question in a nut shell. Here is my question

When I use my GPS for navigation, it plots a straight "purple" line on the map and all that you got to do is navigate. However, as you approach the destination, you would be diving into the airport if you followd the GPS purple line. I've been selecting different approches and vectors using the GPS. They draw thin dotted line in the map depending upon which Vector I choose. Now here is the question,

1) When and How do I deviate of my main course towards the final approach Vector?

2) Is there a formula to calculate what should be the height at a given distance from the ILS approach? Most of the times when I go around the Vector (curves), by the time I reach the ILS zone, I am too high always. How do I maintain the height even when I curve? Please assume I am flying a 747

3) I am very bored with "Soar airlines" , "Orbits" and "transworld". I see beautiful of screenshots of lot of commercial airlines (like american etc)...Can anyone provide me a link to one that also has a Virtual Cockpit? Most of them I tried does not have Virtual Cockpit

Thank you for your replies in advance

Answers 2 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Site Admin
Fly Away Simulation (Flyaway) Site Admin

Regarding your navigation questions, I am sure you will be able to answer these using the following pages:
https://flyawaysimulation.com/knowledge/

There is a great free package for AI aircraft called Project AI which can be used with FS2002 and FS2004. You can visit the homepage for more information or download it straight from our file library:
https://flyawaysimulation.com/downloads/files/726/project-ai-v25/

Hope this helps 🙂)

Last edited by Fly Away Simulation (Flyaway) on Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:18 pm, edited 1 time in total
Pro Member First Officer