Testing the joystick

PierreL Guest

I have a Saitek Evo Force (just new) and FS2004. I am new to this application, but I have flown Cessna172 before. When I use the joystick I find all controls responsive and true to memory except pitch which seems to respond with significant delay resulting in amplified corrections that lead nowhere to a stable flight.

Is there an application somewhere or whatever else to check if the stick is functional so that I can retrun it asap.

Thanks,

Pierre

Answers 13 Answers

Jump to latest
Pro Member Chief Captain
tomthetank Chief Captain

Within fs9 there is a calibration setting Ermm... in settings I think

Pro Member First Officer
jelami First Officer

As TTT said, under settings go to the <sensitivities> button. Make sure you select the correct device, then under <advanced> you can set the sensitivity and null zone. Be careful though, you could end up all over the place if they are set to tight. Good Luck

Thanks TTT and Mike.
I installed on another PC and in both cases checked the sensitivities. Not knowing what right or left meant I settled for a middle sensitivity and null.

Still more trouble. On another PC after the lesson went well after a down turn looks like Rod went for an extended beer. After 10 minutes of waiting for his return and having leveled off I quit the flight.

On the other PC same story. Except that Rod was thirsty even before. And a consistent msg that I should raise the flaps to 20, which they were at. I tried to lower them to 30 and back to 20 to raise Rod's interest. To no avail. I try maneuvers to shake the plane from unresponsive. The rudder works but not the bank. Then all of a sudden (a good 20 seconds later) the bank works. Still no sign of life from Rod. I go back to straight and level. Thanks God there is unlimited fuel, I am going to go round the globe. I hit escape and resume the lesson in the vain hope Rod will take interest again. To no avail. I quit.